Samut Songkhram Travel Information

Samut Songkhram began as part of the Ratchaburi province during the Rattanakosin period. At that time it was known as Suan Nork. As the Ayutthaya period transitioned into the Thonburi period, it was separated into its own province and called Mueang Mae Klong. The name was eventually changed to Samut Songkhram.

The region is abundantly fertile and depends heavily on profit from agricultural pursuits, particularly the production of fruits, vegetables and grains, along with seafood. Located only 72 kilometers from Bangkok and covering a mere 416 kilometers, Samut Songhkram is divided into three districts: Amphoe Muang, Amphoe Amphawa, and Amphoe Bang Khonthi.